Image

Image

This is out of the ordinary topic-wise for me but I still thought it was worth sharing. National Geographic is hosting a blog this year as a group of American climbers will be attempting to “repeat the historic climb of the 1963 National Geographic-sponsored American Mount Everest Expedition, almost 50 years after that first American ascent. Mountaineer Conrad Anker and photographer Cory Richards will attempt the risky West Ridge route. At the same time a second team with additional climbers from The North Face and National Geographic writer Mark Jenkins will take on the mountain’s Southeast Ridge.”

There are lots of great links to historical information, as well as plenty of live updates and photographs. I’ve seen Everest from both the Chinese and Nepalese side of the border and I can tell you from first-hand experience that these are some hard.core. people doing this. I could barely breathe at the base camp and the idea that these people were just starting out from that point kind of blew me away. Hope they stay safe up there.

http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/everest/blog/contents

